Nav Container


Utility Container

Search Trigger (Container)

Button (Container)

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

Search

Look What's New!

There is always something new for you at your Ramona Library!
Stop by on a regular basis to browse the collection.

Reading is a way for me to expand my mind, open my eyes, and fill up my heart.

- Oprah Winfrey

New Library books (August, 2018)

War Storm by Victoria Aveyard

War Storm is the final installment in Aveyard’s action-packed, plot-twisting, dystopian-meets-fantasy-with-a-side-of-romance Red Queen series.

Hello there Katherine Pham, ’21 and Napa GutieRuiz, ‘19! Since you have enjoyed reading the series—your copy of War Storm is ready for you to pick up! JEveryone here at Ramona is also welcome to check out this book (and many others!)!

Here are some links to the author’s web site and official book trailer:

https://youtu.be/4_GDZtjz6bc

https://www.victoriaaveyard.com/red-queen-series/


Sea Witch by Sarah Henning

Do you enjoy fantasy and fairytale retellings? Listen up fans (and soon to be fans!) of Marissa Meyer and Danielle Paige—You are going to love Sarah Henning’s mysterious and magical debut novel— Sea Witch!

Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea's most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.”—Harper Collins, publisher.

https://www.sarahhenningwrites.com/


Wild Blue Wonder by Carlie Sorosiak

“A girl in rural Maine, dealing with the emotional aftermath of an accident (at her family-run summer camp) for which she feels responsible, learns to let go of the guilt that haunts her.”—Kirkus Review

“A striking examination of love—of friends, of family, of self—as well as of grief.”-- ALA Booklist in a starred review.

(Author Carlie Sorosiak) grew up in North Carolina and holds two master’s degrees: one in English from Oxford University and another in creative writing and publishing from City University London. Her life goals include traveling to all seven continents and fostering many polydactyl cats. She currently splits her time between the United States and the United Kingdom, hoping to gain an accent like Madonna’s. Visit her online at www.carliesorosiak.com.” —Harper Teen, publisher.


“In this thoughtful mystery… 18-year-old Pearl Haskins was one of the last people to see the Garrison family alive the night their house burned to the ground. Pearl’s father was the gatekeeper at the Garrison house; blamed for the tragedy, he has since lost most of his caretaking jobs on Mount Desert Island, a Maine summer retreat. Pearl’s job as a waitress at the local club brings her into contact with the island’s elite, including the enigmatic Tristan Garrison, the lone surviving family member, who has returned for the summer. Pearl is determined to clear her father’s name and get to the bottom of what happened to the Garrisons, despite the warnings from her fellow townies. But what will learning the truth cost her? Pearl is an empathetic character, and French does an excellent job of highlighting the tension between social classes in this slow-burning mystery, as well as the difficulties of navigating family drama.”—Publisher’s Weekly

Book trailer video: https://youtu.be/gYVvTAjzwI8


The Book of M: A Novel by Peng Shepherd

“What if your shadow inexplicably held memories? And what if, one day, shadows began to disappear? So begins Peng Shepherd’s fascinating debut novel, The Book of M, that explores memory, loss, and a very human apocalypse.

One day in a busy Indian market a man’s shadow disappears, and with it his memories begin to unravel. Soon, the affliction spreads across the world, as more and more people slowly lose their memories—and with them their ability to reason. We see this catastrophe unfold through the eyes of Ory and his girlfriend, Max, who have gone into hiding in an abandoned hotel. When Max loses her shadow and disappears into the forest, Ory pursues her and heads south, hoping to find Max before she forgets him. What follows is a spellbinding narrative about love and loss in a nascent world that defies genre and expectations.” —Alison Walker (Amazon.com Best Book June, 2018).


Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller

“After the climate wars, a floating city is constructed in the Arctic Circle, a remarkable feat of mechanical and social engineering, complete with geothermal heating and sustainable energy. The city’s denizens have become accustomed to a roughshod way of living. However, the city is starting to fray along the edges—crime and corruption have set in, the contradictions of incredible wealth alongside direst poverty are spawning unrest, and a dangerous epidemic nicknamed “the breaks” is spreading, ravaging the population.

When a strange new visitor arrives—a woman riding an orca with a polar bear at her side—the city is entranced. “The orcamancer,” as she’s known, very subtly brings together four people, each living on the periphery, to stage unprecedented acts of resistance. By banding together to save their city before it crumbles under the weight of its own decay, they will learn shocking truths about themselves.

Blackfish City is a remarkably urgent—and ultimately very hopeful—novel about political corruption, organized crime, technology run amok, gender identity, the consequences of climate change, and the unifying power of human connection.”—Ecco, Publisher.


We Are All That’s Left by Carrie Arcos

“Two lives. Two worlds apart. One deeply compelling story set in both Bosnia and the United States, spanning decades and generations, about the brutality of war and the trauma of everyday life after war, about hope and the ties that bind us together.

Zara and her mother, Nadja, have a strained relationship. Nadja just doesn't understand Zara's creative passion for, and self-expression through, photography. And Zara doesn't know how to reach beyond their differences and connect to a closed-off mother who refuses to speak about her past in Bosnia. But when a bomb explodes as they're shopping in their local farmers' market in Rhode Island, Zara is left with PTSD--and her mother is left in a coma. Without the opportunity to get to know her mother, Zara is left with questions--not just about her mother, but about faith, religion, history, and her own path forward.”—Penguin Books.

Meet author Carrie Arcos at the Pasadena Teen Book Festival (Sat., September 15th, 12-4).


A Reaper at the Gates (An Ember in the Ashes) by Sabaa Tahir

A Reaper at the Gates is the highly anticipated third book in the New York Times bestselling Ember Quartet.

“The book deftly handles serious issues like the costs of genocide and war… Action-packed and emotionally engaging, (this fantasy novel) is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human—and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” -The Washington Post.

Check out the author’s uber-cool bio: https://www.sabaatahir.com/bio/


Safe Houses by Dan Fesperman

A great choice for those who like to read suspenseful spy novels and/or historical fiction:

“A young woman discovers a nefarious truth at the heart of the CIA’s operations in postwar Berlin and goes on the run for her life; years later she’s gruesomely murdered along with her husband, and her daughter begins to chase down these startling secrets from her past.”—Penguin Random House, publisher.

“Fesperman delivers a breathtaking, intricate international spy novel unnervingly on point for the #MeToo moment.” —Library Journal


Driving by Starlight by Anat Deracine

An excellent, plot-twisting multicultural YA novel about friendship “set in Saudi Arabia, two girls navigate typical teen issues—crushes, college, family expectations, future hopes, and dreams.

Sixteen-year-olds Leena and Mishie are best friends. They delight in small rebellions against the Saudi cultural police—secret Western clothing, forbidden music, flirtations. But Leena wants college, independence—she wants a different life. Though her story is specific to her world (a world where it's illegal for women to drive, where a ten-year-old boy is the natural choice as guardian of a fatherless woman), ultimately it's a story about friendship, family, and freedom that transcends cultural differences.” – Henry Holt & Co., publisher.


Google It! by Anna Crowley Redding

“Think. Invent. Organize. Share. Don't be evil. And change the world.

Larry Page and Sergey Brin started out as two Stanford college students with a wild idea: They were going to organize the world's information. From that one deceptively simple goal, they created one of the most influential and innovative companies in the world. The word “google” has even entered our vocabulary as a verb. Now, find out the true history of Google―from its humble beginnings as a thesis project made out of “borrowed” hardware and discount toys through its revolution of the world's relationship with technology to a brief glimpse of where they might take us next.

In Google It, award-winning investigative reporter Anna Crowley Redding shares an inspiring story of innovation, personal and intellectual bravery, and most importantly, of shooting for the moon in order to change the world.”—Feiwel & Friends, publisher.